• Angelo van Dyk

A list of South African BIPOC wine makers, Wine brands, sommeliers, distillers and brewers.

Updated: Jun 30, 2020



Wine brands:

Bosman Adama - @bosmanadama

Tebogo Ditsebe - Botebo Wines - @botebowines

Lindile Ndzaba - Khayelitsha Fine Wines - @khayelitshasfinestwines

Vivian Kleynhans - Seven Sisters Vineyards - @seven_sisters_vineyards

Nondumiso Pikashe - Sesfikile Wines - @sesfikilewines

Sheila Hlanjwa - Lathitha Wines - @sheilahlanjwa @lathithawineboutique_

Rangakas Family - M’Hudi Wines - @foros_legacy

Siyabonga Mvula - Imvula Wine - @imvulawines

Bonang Matheba - House of BNG - @houseofbng

Silk Bush Mountain Vineyards - @silkbush_mountain_v

Rosemary Mosia - The Bridge of Hope Wines - @thebridgeofhopewines

Nomhle Zondani - The Wine Shaq - @thewineshaq

Raymond Ndlovu - Black Elephant Vintners - @bevintners

Koni Maliehe - Koni Wines - @koni_wines

Thapelo Mokoena - Nero Wine - @neromomentsza

Denzel Swarts - Sons of The Soils Wines

Denise Stubbs - Thokozani Wines - @thokozani_sa

Thembi Tobie - Thembi Wines - @thembi_wines

Libby Petersen - Libby's Pride Wine

House of Mandela - @houseofmandela

Epicurean Wine - @epicureanwines


Winemakers:

Sandile Mkhwanazi - Tumbaga Fine Wines - @winesandile

Janine Petersen - J9 Wines - @j9wines

Natasha Williams - Bosman Family Vineyards & Lelie van Saron - @natashawilliamssaron @lelievansaron

Mphumi Ndlangisa - Magna Carta Wines - @magnacartawines

Nstiki Biyeli - Aslina Wines - @aslina_wines

Siwela Sweetness Masoga - Siwela Wines - @siwelawines

Joseph Dhafana - Mosi Wines - @mosi_wines @wine_poet

Berene Sauls - Tesselaarsdal Wines - @tesselaarsdalwines

Kiara Scott - Brookdale Estate - @kiarascott05

Nathan Valentine - Villiera Wines - @Nathan.valentine.165

Elmarie Botes - Nederburg Wine - @elmariebotes

Natasha Boks - Nederberg Wine - @nwangel7

Shawn Mathyse - Ken Forrester - @shawnmathyse

Rudger van Wyk - Stark-Conde Wines - @rudgervw

Carmen Stevens - Naked Wines

Tinashe Nyamudoka - Kumusha Wines - @KumushaWines

Craig Paulsen - Nietvoorbij - @craigdcp

Tariro Masayiti - Springfontein Estate - @tariromasayiti


Viticulturalists:

Sheldon van Wyk - @vanwyksheldon

Deborah Isaacs - L'Ormarins Estate - @disaacs2


Sommeliers:

Shirley Muswema - The Wine Tarte - @thewinetarte

Luvo Ntezo - The One & Only - @luvontezo

Job Jovo - The Oyster Box

Tinashe Nyamudoka - The Test Kitchen - @tinashe_nyamudoka

Ali Mataka - The Norval Foundation, Skotnes Restaurant - @mataka_ali

Tawanda Marume - Expression Wines Africa - @tawanda.marume

Pardon Taguzu - African Wines - @pardon_taguzu

Mandla Patson Mathonsi - Spier Wine Estate - @mandla_patson

Tshepang Molisana - @tshepangmolisana

Xolani Mancotywa - @cheffingwithx

Gregory Mutambe - The Twelve Apostles - @mutambe

Pearl Oliver-Mbumba - The One & Only - @prospearl_wine_ct

Roxan Waldeck - Sommelier Academy - @waldeckroxan

Mercy Mwai - Nobu Cape Town - @mercymwai

Marlvin Gwese - Cape Grace Hotel - @marlvingwese

Spirits & Beer:

Nzeka Biyeli - Sugarbird Gin - @sugarbirdgin

Luvuyo Jongile and Nodumo Jongile - Mayine Gin - @mayine_gin

Joseph Dhafana - Mosi Gin - @mosi_wines @wine_poet

Thapelo Mokoena - Ukhamba Beerworx - @ukhamba_beerworx @ukhamba_taproom


(Note: this list was self-researched, and compiled through submissions on social media. There may be mistakes, and I apologise in advance. Please do reach out to me if any changes or additions need to be made to the published list on my website.)

118 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All