top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngelo van Dyk

A list of South African BIPOC wine makers, Wine brands, sommeliers, distillers and brewers.

Updated: Jun 30, 2020



Wine brands:

Tebogo Ditsebe - Botebo Wines - @botebowines

Nondumiso Pikashe - Sesfikile Wines - @sesfikilewines

Rangakas Family - M’Hudi Wines - @foros_legacy

Siyabonga Mvula - Imvula Wine - @imvulawines

Bonang Matheba - House of BNG - @houseofbng

Nomhle Zondani - The Wine Shaq - @thewineshaq

Koni Maliehe - Koni Wines - @koni_wines

Thapelo Mokoena - Nero Wine - @neromomentsza

Denzel Swarts - Sons of The Soils Wines

Denise Stubbs - Thokozani Wines - @thokozani_sa

Thembi Tobie - Thembi Wines - @thembi_wines

Libby Petersen - Libby's Pride Wine


Winemakers:

Sandile Mkhwanazi - Tumbaga Fine Wines - @winesandile

Janine Petersen - J9 Wines - @j9wines

Natasha Williams - Bosman Family Vineyards & Lelie van Saron - @natashawilliamssaron @lelievansaron

Mphumi Ndlangisa - Magna Carta Wines - @magnacartawines

Nstiki Biyeli - Aslina Wines - @aslina_wines

Siwela Sweetness Masoga - Siwela Wines - @siwelawines

Joseph Dhafana - Mosi Wines - @mosi_wines @wine_poet

Elmarie Botes - Nederburg Wine - @elmariebotes

Natasha Boks - Nederberg Wine - @nwangel7

Shawn Mathyse - Ken Forrester - @shawnmathyse

Rudger van Wyk - Stark-Conde Wines - @rudgervw

Carmen Stevens - Naked Wines

Tinashe Nyamudoka - Kumusha Wines - @KumushaWines

Craig Paulsen - Nietvoorbij - @craigdcp


Viticulturalists:

Sheldon van Wyk - @vanwyksheldon

Deborah Isaacs - L'Ormarins Estate - @disaacs2


Sommeliers:

Shirley Muswema - The Wine Tarte - @thewinetarte

Luvo Ntezo - The One & Only - @luvontezo

Job Jovo - The Oyster Box

Tinashe Nyamudoka - The Test Kitchen - @tinashe_nyamudoka

Pardon Taguzu - African Wines - @pardon_taguzu

Mandla Patson Mathonsi - Spier Wine Estate - @mandla_patson

Tshepang Molisana - @tshepangmolisana

Xolani Mancotywa - @cheffingwithx

Gregory Mutambe - The Twelve Apostles - @mutambe

Pearl Oliver-Mbumba - The One & Only - @prospearl_wine_ct

Mercy Mwai - Nobu Cape Town - @mercymwai

Spirits & Beer:

Nzeka Biyeli - Sugarbird Gin - @sugarbirdgin

Luvuyo Jongile and Nodumo Jongile - Mayine Gin - @mayine_gin

Joseph Dhafana - Mosi Gin - @mosi_wines @wine_poet


(Note: this list was self-researched, and compiled through submissions on social media. There may be mistakes, and I apologise in advance. Please do reach out to me if any changes or additions need to be made to the published list on my website.)

141 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page